PBP Week 2: A is for Affirmations

Hello Friends! <3

Today’s topic is Affirmations. I actually did some research on this topic because I had no idea what they are.  I had heard so much about these Affirmations but never put any energy into them.  So being who I am, lets talk about this text book definition of an Affirmation.

af·fir·ma·tion [af-er-mey-shuh n] noun

1. the act or an instance of affirming; state of being affirmed.

2. the assertion that something exists or is true.

3. something that is affirmed; a statement or proposition that is declared to be true.

4. confirmation or ratification of the truth or validity of a prior judgment, decision, etc.

5. Law. a solemn declaration accepted instead of a statement under oath.

This really doesn’t do justice to what Affirmations actually means to me. It is funny how the universe is sending me things on this subject during this week. I probably rewrote this blog post about three times now. My husband and a couple of my friends lost a friend due to some sort of drama during this week. Of course I am trying to stay out of it but it is hard since it is my husband and a group of friends. Needless to say, I’m moving forward. There was one thing I did notice though that most people have issues with themselves that they need to work on. Of course no one is perfect, that is not what I am saying. I’m saying that I think people really need to look into Affirmations. You see I finally understood what they were.

When you say I am ________. Let it be positive or negative you conscious says “As you wish.” and puts it into truth. Where then your mind begins to focus on that negative or positive thought. Your consciousness isn’t going to tell you that “Oh sweetie no you are not a bad person.” Your conscious isn’t something that has emotions. It is going to listen to what you say you are and move on with it’s day.

I started reading The Secret earlier this week. That helped make me come to this conclusion as well.  Since I am done with the book, it has shed new light on how I should see my spiritual path and myself in general. Sadly I can’t change things over night but it is a work in progress. I am trying to weed out the doubters that I have around me and the doubt that like to sneak up on myself. It is hard, really hard but each day I wake up. I am grateful for where I am in the world and then move on with my day. I’m tired of the chains that people have put upon me to keep my spirit from flying. I will say that it is my fault that I let them do this to me though. I let them chain me and beat me with a brick of doubt and self pity because they couldn’t take me as a positive person that I was. Change that….that I am. I am a positive person. I am a beauty person. I have a gracious soul and a loving personality and I am tired of people beating me down for it.

My affirmation for 2013 is I am me.

3 thoughts on “PBP Week 2: A is for Affirmations

Leave a Reply

